John Thune

South Dakota Republican Senate Majority Whip

Senator John Thune

South Dakota Republican Senate Majority Whip

John Thune, a Senator and a Representative from South Dakota; born in Pierre, Hughes County, S. Dak., January 7, 1961; graduated from Jones County High School, S. Dak., 1979; B.S., Biola University, La Mirada, Calif., 1983; M.B.A., University of South Dakota, Vermillion, S. Dak., 1984; executive director, South Dakota state municipal league; board of directors, National League of Cities; staff, United States Senator James Abdnor of South Dakota 1985-1986; South Dakota state Republican party executive director 1989-1991; director, South Dakota state railroad division 1991-1993; director, South Dakota state municipal league 1993-1996; elected as a Republican to the One Hundred Fifth and to the two succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1997-January 3, 2003); was not a candidate for reelection to the One Hundred Eighth Congress in 2002, but was an unsuccessful candidate for the United States Senate; elected as a Republican to the U.S. Senate in 2004; reelected in 2010 for the term ending January 3, 2017; vice-chair, Republican Conference (2009); chair, Republican Policy Committee (2009-2012); chair, Republican Conference (2012-); chair, Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation (One Hundred Fourteenth Congress).

John's Information

Name:  John Thune  
Party:  republican
Title:  senate-majority-whip
Class:  III

Date of Birth:  January 7th, 1961 ( Age 60 )
Entered Office:  January 3rd, 2005
Term Ends:  January 3rd, 2023

John's Social Media

Accountability in Action

There are 100 senators, two from each of the 50 U.S. states. This is a list of the current South Dakota Senator's of the United States Senate (117th United States Congress).

United States Senate

Select a State to access Government & Demographic data on the 117th United States Senate. Contact Information includes Phone Number, Mailing Address, Official Website, Twitter & Facebook Accounts.

  We Open Source Our Data